Go to the new North Northamptonshire Council website

North Northamptonshire Shadow Authority

Membership and Executive

In line with Government legislation, a North Northants Shadow Authority will be set up in June 2020 and will be made up of all the existing members of Corby, East Northants, Kettering and Wellingborough councils along with all Northamptonshire County Councillors representing electoral divisions in these areas.This will replace the North Northants Joint Committee, which has been steering forward preparations for the new unitary council since March 2019.

Meeting dates and documents

Shadow membership

There are 152 members of the North Northamptonshire Shadow Authority.

Some councillors are dual hatted which means they may sit on a district/ borough council and on the county council. It is one member one vote, twin hatted members do not get two votes.

Cllr Russell Roberts will be the Leader for the Shadow North Northamptonshire Council with Cllr Martin Griffiths as Deputy Leader.

The Shadow Authority is made up as follows:

Borough Council of Wellingborough councillors – 36

Corby Borough Council councillors – 29

East Northamptonshire Council councillors – 40

Kettering Borough Council councillors – 36

Northamptonshire County Council councillors – 26 of which 15 are dual hatted.

The Shadow Executive

In accordance with Government legislation, the North Northants Shadow Authority will have a Shadow Executive (executive committee). This will be made up of two representatives from each of the current councils, consisting of the Leader plus another Councillor. Membership will be confirmed at the first meeting of the shadow authority.