BOROUGH OF KETTERING

	COLINCIA	Item	Page 1	
	COUNCIL	12		
Report	Sue Lyons	Fwd Plan Ref No:		
Originator	Monitoring Officer	C15/006		
Wards	All	16 th December 2015		
Affected				
Title	Title APPOINTMENT OF PARISH MEMBERS TO THE			
	STANDARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE			

Portfolio Holder: Cllr Russell Roberts

1. PURPOSE OF REPORT

To seek the appointment of parish members to Kettering Borough Council's Standards Advisory Committee.

2. INFORMATION

- 2.1 Article 8 of the Council's Constitution requires that the Council maintain a Standards Advisory Committee and such sub-committees as may be required to enable the local consideration of allegations of breach of the Council's Code of Conduct.
- 2.2 The Standards Advisory Committee has the following membership:-
 - Three councillors
 - Five independent members
 - Two members of a Town or Parish Council in the Borough (Parish Members)
- 2.3 For the last four years the Standards Advisory Committee has had one vacancy for a parish member, which has not been filled as no nominations have been received. The other parish member on the Committee was not re-elected in the May local elections and is therefore no longer eligible to sit on the Committee.
- 2.4 A recruitment exercise was carried out between July and October, with nominations being sought from interested town and parish councillors, who were required to submit applications to the Monitoring Officer by 31st October 2015. Two applications have been received as follows:-
 - Cllr Douglas Hodkinson (Geddington, Newton and Little Oakley Parish Council) Cllr Sally McKeown (Ashley Parish Council)
- 2.5 The Chair of the Standards Advisory Committee has indicated that she is in agreement with the above two parish councillors being appointed to the Standards Advisory Committee with immediate effect.

BOROUGH OF KETTERING

COUNCIL	Item 12	Page 2

3. **RECOMMENDATION**

That Councillors Douglas Hodkinson and Sally McKeown be appointed to the Standards Advisory Committee with immediate effect.

Background Papers:

Previous Reports/Minutes:

Contact Officer: Anne Ireson