Hello, sign in to your account. New customer? Register here.

Local History Sessions at the Manor House Museum

Published Wednesday, 23 August 2017

Exploring the history and origins of Kettering.

Local History expert, Delia Thomas, will be leading the Local History sessions at the Manor House Museum to uncover the town’s fascinating origins and reveal how it has developed over thousands of years!

The Local History sessions explore a different historical theme every month on a Wednesday evening and begin at 7pm, lasting for approximately 1 hour and a half on the following dates:

  • Wednesday 13th September: Introduction; early settlement; Roman Kettering.
  • Wednesday 11th October: Saxon Kettering; the Domesday Book.
  • Wednesday 8th November: The manorial system; Rockingham Forest (Held at Alfred East Art Gallery)
  • Wednesday 13th December: Town development in the Mediaeval and Tudor periods.
  • Wednesday 10th January: Pre-Reformation religion.
  • Wednesday 14th February: Post-Reformation religion
  • Wednesday 14th March: C 18th-century expansion; enclosure, early 19th century poverty.
  • Wednesday 11th April: C 19th-century expansion; the development of a modern town.
  • Wednesday 9th May: Kettering in the 20th and 21st centuries: Researching Local History.

Refreshments are available from 6:45pm.

Booking is essential to avoid disappointment.

Tickets are £5 per person or £3.50 with a Kettering Leisure Pass.

Book 3 consecutive sessions for just £12.

For further information on bookings, contact the Manor House Museum on

01536 534219, or email museumandgallery@kettering.gov.uk.

Get in touch with Kettering Borough Council

Email: customerservices@kettering.gov.uk. Telephone: 01536 410333.

Full contact details. Send us your feedback.